• 10 MAR 2022

Post-Cabinet Media Briefing- Thursday 10th March, 2022

The Cabinet has approved the establishment of a Commission of Enquiry to examine and enquire into all the circumstances which led to the tragic death of the four LMCS Limited employees.

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, the Hon. Stuart Young made the announcement at the Post-Cabinet Media Briefing held at the Diplomatic Centre, St. Ann’s today (Thursday 09th March, 2022).

The Commission of Enquiry will comprise of:

– Chairman – Hon. Mr Justice C. Dennis Morrison, OJ CD QC
– Mr Gregory Wilson, Professional Subsea Specialist
– A representative from a Specialist International Investigative Firm with experience in conducting investigations into accidents and incidents in large industrial settings, especially in oil and gas settings.

Minister Young stated that the Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries in conjunction with the Office of the Attorney General will develop the specific terms of reference for the Commission of Enquiry.

He explained that the committee will be required to submit a report to the President within six months from its first sitting.

The Minister of Energy and Energy Industries said that Counsel to the Commission would be Mr Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj SC, and is to be assisted by attorneys at Law, Mr Ronnie Bissesar and Vijaya Maharaj.

Minister Young sincerely thanked the members of the previously appointed independent investigative committee, which has now been replaced by a commission of enquiry, for their wiliness to serve.