• 06 JUL 2023

MOU Between Trinidad and Tobago and Suriname

Prime Minster Dr the Hon. Keith Rowley and President of Suriname, His Excellency, Chandrikapersad Santokhi witnessed the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and the Republic of Suriname at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s today (Thursday 6th July, 2023).

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries and Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, the Hon. Stuart Young and Minister of Foreign Affairs, International Business and International Cooperation of the Republic of Suriname, His Excellency Albert Ramdin signed the agreement.

The signing followed productive discussions on the ongoing collaborative efforts between the countries which are focused on the future development of Suriname’s and Trinidad and Tobago’s hydrocarbon industry as well as to provide energy security for the region.

Both countries will now establish technical teams which will produce feasibility studies for their respective governments and this exercise will determine the way forward.

To complement today’s discussions presentations were made by Dr Vernon Paltoo, President of National Energy Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Limited, Mr. Annand Jagesar, Managing Director of Staatsolie and Mr. Eddy Fränkel, Power & Sustainable Energy Deputy Director of Staatsolie.