• 16 APR 2018

Government and Shell Moving Toward Agreements by September 2018

Prime Minister Dr the Honourable Keith Rowley led a delegation of energy experts to meet with Shell executives in London today (April 16, 2018).

The Government’s delegation included: Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, the Honourable Franklin Khan, Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister and the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs, the Honourable Stuart Young, Mr. Mark Loquan, President of National Gas Company, Mr. Leroy Mayers, Ms. Heidi Wong and Mr. Richard Jeremie, Advisors, Ministry of Energy and Energy Industries.

Shell’s delegation included Mr. Maarten Wetselaar, Integrated Gas and New Energies Director, Mr. De La Rey Venter, Executive Vice President, Integrated Gas Ventures, Mr. Derek Hudson, Vice President and Country Chairman, Trinidad Tobago and Mr. Anders Ekval, Business Opportunity Manager, Atlantic LNG.

The parties agreed to establish empowered negotiating teams that will meet from the second half of May 2018.

These teams will work on a priority basis, on a number of matters including, but not limited to, Atlantic LNG and the socio- economic contribution of the LNG business to Trinidad and Tobago, extensions of various upstream Production Sharing Contracts (PSC), Venezuelan initiatives and new domestic gas arrangements.

It is expected that the negotiating teams will report back to their principals with agreements by September 2018.

The parties agreed that they are working towards the securing of the long-term future of the gas industry in Trinidad and Tobago.