• 28 NOV 2016

National Security Council

The National Security Council (NSC) consists of the Prime Minister as Chairperson, the Attorney General, the Minister of National Security, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs, the Minister of the People and Social Development and one other

Minister appointed at the discretion of the Prime Minister. Senior members of the Protective Services can be co-opted to attend meetings of the NSC.

The National Security Council is charged with the responsibility of monitoring matters relating to defence and national security and is serviced by a Secretariat comprising staff employed to assist the Council in the execution of its duties.