• 28 NOV 2016


According to the Constitution of Trinidad and Tobago the Cabinet consists of the Prime Minister who is appointed by the President, and other Ministers (of whom one shall be the Attorney

General) chosen from among the members of the House of Representatives and the Senators appointed by the President acting in accordance with advice of the Prime Minister. The Cabinet has the general direction and control of the Government of the Republic of Trinidad and

Tobago and is collectively responsible to Parliament.

The Cabinet is serviced by a Cabinet Secretariat which provides specialized administrative support as well as support to certain Sub committees of Cabinet. The Secretariat receives submissions from all Ministers of Government in the form of Cabinet Notes for consideration by Cabinet. The Cabinet Secretariat records the decisions of Cabinet and transmits those decisions to the relevant public authorities in the form of Cabinet Minutes for implementation.